‘Fantasy Machine’


Written and produced by Ray Monahan and Tim Stokes (who don’t seem to be credited with ever having done anything else) ‘Fantasy Machine’ was released in 1984 on West End. It featured a dub mix by Joe ‘The Butcher’ Nicolo; after working for the Rolling Stones, Nicolo went on to create the Ruffhouse label and produced a lot of early 90s hip hop, including Cypress Hill, Kriss Kross and Mellow Man Ace. I can still remember the first time I heard ‘Fantasy Machine’… like Warp 9’s ‘Nunk (New Wave Funk)’ it has synth pads that give it what I can only describe as a futuristic sadness, like robots on a lonely mission, drifting in space.

I’m off to see WALL-E, but I reckon there’ll be tears… it’s gonna be Silent Running all over again.

Posted by Manny Z

Related Entry:
Warp 9

About this entry